My first stop in Vietnam: Hanoi. Looking back, it was the best city to start my trip through the blistering hot country, coming from depressingly cold and smoggy Beijing. The people I met travelling in the other direction, from south to north, were constantly complaining about the chilly weather, but by me it was welcomed with open arms.

I only got to spend two full days here, but I enjoyed every second of them. The city, just like the rest of the country, is overflowing with motorbikes, amazing food and nice people. I spent most of my time wandering around and observing the chaos in the small streets: motorbikes coming from every direction, street vendors trying to sell fruit or flowers, and people enjoying their food or coffee on little stools on the side of the road. Loved it!

Vietnam Hanoi 0
Just close your eyes and go.

Vietnam Hanoi 4
Eating lunch and drinking coffee on the side of the road.

Vietnam Hanoi2
Fancy, expensive kitchen tools are so 2013.

Vietnam Hanoi3

Vietnam Hanoi 6

Vietnam Hanoi 5
Motorbikes have limitless space.

IMG_6193
Bicycles too, for that matter.

Vietnam Hanoi 7
West lake.

Vietnam Hanoi


Cafe Vietnam Hanoi

IMG_5852
Scared shitless for my first ride on the back of a motorbike taxi, xe om. Who needs a fitting helmet anyway? Safety is overrated.

Bread Vietnam Hanoi
The best French influence: beautiful bread, everywhere!

2 Responses to “Hanoi, Vietnam.”

  1. Bert Broekman

    Hallo Marte , Hier met Oom Bert en tante Sjaan uit Boxtel Geweldig die berichten uit Hanoi. Wij zijn wel jaloers op jou . AS maandag wordt Tante Ria 80 jaar ,Misschien zien we daar je opa Joop ook nog. Het ga je goed Groetjes From: Martetatin To: bertvliegkist@hetnet.nl Sent: Monday, March 10, 2014 12:11 PM Subject: [New post] Hanoi, Vietnam.

    martetatin posted: “My first stop in Vietnam: Hanoi. Looking back, it was the best city to start my trip through the blistering hot country, coming from depressingly cold and smoggy Beijing. The people I met travelling in the other direction, from south to north, were consta”

    Reply
  2. gottagetbaked

    I’d love to visit Vietnam someday! Until then, I’ll just live vicariously through you and your gorgeous photos. The first thing I thought of when I saw all the bread was banh mi. I hope you’re eating all of the delicious foods Vietnam has to offer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

