Quinoa Salad Duck Breast

After eating ridiculous amounts of almond croissants, chocolate croissants, pastries and French fries that aren’t even French for 10 days straight, it was time to get my ass back to the gym and eat healthy, wholesome food again. On the contrary of what you might think when you take a look at the latest recipes on this blog  – ice cream, meatloaf grilled cheese sandwich and brownie cookies – I try to eat fairly healthy. It doesn’t necessarily have to be super lean and I’m not able to cut out sugar completely, but I do like to know what is in my food, I like my food to be nutritious and I like to eat whatever I’m craving at that moment mindfully.

Quinoa Salad Duck Breast 2

This was the first time I had quinoa – I’m way behind on trying out the hip health foods, at least I’ve been eating chia seeds daily since months already – and I really liked it. It was also the first time that I cooked duck and even though I cooked it a little bit too long, the meat was still very tender and the skin was as crispy as it should. Two foods I had never cooked before in one recipe.. living on the edge.

Recipe adapted from Home Made by Yvette van Boven

The recipe calls for red rice, but I didn’t have it at that time (I do now, thanks sis) and I couldn’t find it anywhere. So I used red quinoa, it’s red after all, and it worked out fine. The dressing is a bit similar to this one, recipe from the same cookbook, and I think I like a combination of both, without the sour cream but with the vinegar.

This recipe makes enough for 4 people.

300 g red quinoa (or red rice)
2 duck breasts
half romaine lettuce, sliced up into shreds
75 g hazelnuts, roughly chopped
200 g raisins
bunch of parsley, roughly chopped
2 cloves of garlic
4 tbsp white wine vinegar
1 lemon, zest and juice
2 pinches of curry powder
1 tsp caraway seeds
3 tbsp apricot jam
150 ml olive oil
75 ml sour cream

Boil the quinoa according to the instructions on the package. When the quinoa is done, leave to cool down a bit.

Score the duck breasts slightly, without going all the way down and slicing through the meat. Rub them with salt and pepper. Put the breasts, skin side down, in a hot skillet. Fry until the fat starts to come out of the skin and turn down the heat and continue to cook for 15-20 minutes (depending on the size of the duck). In the meantime render the fat with a (couple of) piece(s) of kitchen paper or pour it out and store it for later use (fry potatoes in duck fat and you’ll end up with reaaally good potatoes and an extra trip to the gym). The skin should be really crispy and brown.  Flip the duck over and cook on the flesh side for 3 minutes until browned. Turn off the heat, place the duck breasts on a cutting board, skin side up, cover loosely with foil and leave to rest for about 5 minutes.

Grate the garlic and put it into a mixing bowl. Add the vinegar, the lemon (zest + juice), the curry powder, the caraway seeds, the jam, the olive oil and the sour cream and mix well. Set aside.

When the quinoa has cooled down a bit, mix in the lettuce, the nuts, raisins and parsley and add the dressing.

When the duck breats are done and have rested, slice them up.

Serve the salad with the duck.

8 Responses to “Red quinoa salad with duck.”

  1. gottagetbaked

    Congrats on having quinoa for the first time! I only started eating it about a year ago and I love it. I’ve always wanted to make duck at home but have been super intimidated by that huge layer of fat under the skin and being afraid of messing it up. This looks absolutely delicious! I should face my fear and make this recipe!

    Reply
    • martetatin

      I had the same thing, but even I didn’t mess up that much, so you’ll be fine ;) Normally when I’m intimidated to cook something I look up some youtube videos beforehand, that always helps. Let me know how it turned out when you’ve tried it!

      Reply
    • martetatin

      I found this red quinoa in the organic supermarket, maybe the organic supermarkets in the UK also have a wider variety than the normal stores.

      Reply
  2. thetraveltotaste

    Great post. I know you’re trying to eat healthy but if you want to try something naughty with quinoa. Boil it until soft, drain really well then put into a large pot with a lot of butter and fry until it puffs and goes super crisp like popcorn. I like to then stir in some truffle paste and a little Parmesan. Chomp on it like chips! Mmmmmm

    Reply
    • martetatin

      Sounds delicious! Unfortunately I’m on a student budget, there’s never any truffle paste in my pantry. Any good alternatives?

      Reply
      • thetraveltotaste

        Grab yourself some dry porcini mushrooms , soak them in water, strain and chop. Toss through quinoa. Or just sauté yourself any mushrooms on hand and sprinkle the puffed quinoa over the top. Loads of Parmesan is a necessity!

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

