Last winter when I was all homesick and feeling down I bought a new cookbook to cheer myself up, even though I knew I had to wait at least half a year before having the opportunity again to be back in the kitchen.

Shrimp cocktail1

This Heston Blumenthal cookbook has recipes that are, compared to his other recipes, quite doable to prepare at home, but almost all the recipes require various complicated steps and fairly advanced cooking skills. So to play it safe I started with the easiest recipe from the book, it’s actually so easy that I’m a bit embarrassed that from all the adventurous and challenging recipes in the book I chose this recipe that even the biggest douche could make in his sleep.

Shrimp cocktail2

But I know why I chose this recipe to be the first one: Heston Blumenthal calls this his secret vice. And if one of the best chefs in the world, someone who can create the most amazing and complicated dishes, calls a simple prawn cocktail his secret vice, all the adventurous recipes have to wait cause this will simple salad had to be put on top of the list.

Slightly adapted recipe from Heston Blumenthal at Home

Serves 4 (I halved the recipe and still had enough for four of these glasses)

110 g tomato ketchup
100 g mayonnaise, store bought or (and even better better) home made
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
12 drops Worcestershire sauce
10 g lemon juice
salt and black pepper to taste
400 g cooked shelled shrimps, I used Dutch (grey) shrimps
1 iceberg lettuce, finely shredded
1 avocado, peeled and diced

Combine the tomato ketchup, mayonnaise, cayenne pepper, Worcestershire sauce and lemon juice in a bowl and mix thoroughly. Add the shrimps, mix again and add salt and black pepper to taste.

Place the shredded lettuce on the bottom of four glasses or glass bowls, followed by the diced avocado and a generous spoonful of shrimps with sauce.

Pictures by Esther v.d. W. and me

One Response to “Shrimp cocktail.”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

