OatmealRaisin

I have always preferred savory food over sweet, especially after living in China for a year where most of the sweet food is filled with things like red bean paste and where the chocolate is just disgusting I give up my sweet tooth for once and for all. Or at least, I thought I had. After coming back and carefully attempting to bake again to see how it would make me feel, I discovered that there was still some left. I had assumed I would just take one bite of these cookies, find them too sweet and give the rest to my housemates, but I found myself sneaking into the kitchen a couple of times more to take little bites of these soft cookies, they are just too good to resist.

OatmealRaisin2

Recipe slightly adapted from A girl and her Pig by April Bloomfield

Note: this is, just like one of the other April Bloomfield recipes I’ve made, the lazy version. I had some golden raisins lying around, so I used a cup of those (which also means I added more raisins than the recipe states for), instead of a mixture of golden raisins, dark sultanas and dried currants. I also didn’t soak the raisins for 5 hours, patience is not my thing, but I was able to restrain myself for an hour or three, by which they were already softer than before, but I bet they would’ve been perfect after five hours. According to Miss Bloomfield, you should bake the cookies 2 times 10 minutes and I tried this with my first batch, but I preferred the cookies that had been in the oven 2 times 12 minutes: they were still very soft, but they had a little bit of crunchiness on the outside. I haven’t tried this yet, but I’m wondering how the cookies would taste if you soak the raisins in some rum..

1 cup raisins, whatever kind you have on hand
1 1/4 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
Large pinch of salt
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups rolled oats

Put the raisins in a bowl, add enough water (or rum, see note) to cover and let them soak in the fridge for at least 5 hours or overnight. Drain and discard the water.

Put the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl and mix them on high speed until the mixture is light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. You’ll occasionally need to scrape down the butter and sugar that clings to the sides. Crack in one egg at a time and beat for 30 seconds after each addition.

Sift the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt into a medium bowl and stir well. Add this and the vanilla extract to the egg mixture and mix at medium speed just until the ingredients are well mixed and the flour is evenly distributed. Add the oats and raisins and mix just until they’re evenly distributed. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and place in the fridge to chill, at least an hour.

Preheat the oven to 350˚F/175˚C and line a large cookie or baking sheet with parchment paper.

I’ve used an ice cream scoop to scoop out the dough and ended up with 18 (instead of 16) equally portioned cookies. Place the balls of dough on the lined sheet, leaving about 2 inches between them. I had to bake the cookies in two batches. Bake them for 20 minutes, rotating the pan after 10 minutes, just until they go golden brown all over and firm at the edges and no longer feel sticky or gooey when you touch one with your finger. Let the cookies cool on a rack as you bake the second batch.

7 Responses to “Soft oatmeal raisin cookies.”

    • martetatin

      Hoi Bert en Sjaan,

      Ik ben sinds een paar weken weer in Nederland en ik blijf waarschijnlijk tot november. Daarna ga ik weer terug naar Beijing en daar blijf ik dan nog tot de zomer om mijn master af te maken.

      Hoop dat alles goed gaat met jullie!

      Liefs

      Reply
  1. foodienewz

    Your food photos are amazing. You can share your mouth watering photos with us at foodienewz.com. foodienewz.com is a new food sharing site and we actually try our best to promote your food photos. At foodienewz.com all your food photos will be published without any editorial review so I really hope you come and join us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

