ScallionNoodles
A couple of weeks ago my parents came to visit me in Beijing. And if that wasn’t special enough, I picked up my friend at the airport a minute before saying goodbye to my parents when they went back home again. It was really nice seeing them, catching up and showing them the city where I’ve been living for the past nine months.

ScallionNoodles1

One thing was a bit hard though; my guests were quite the picky eaters, so I always had to keep their demands in the back of my mind while ordering food. My parents didn’t want to eat spicy and they felt a bit uncomfortable in the back alley places where I love going, so we went to the little bit more fancy ones (not complaining, thanks for all those dinners, papa en mama). When my friend was here I took her to those back alley places and the canteens on campus and she loved them, but then she turned out not to be a fan of my all time favorite: noodles. There’s such a big variety of noodles available in Beijing and I eat noodles almost every single day, so I thought it was pretty difficult to give them up for two weeks.

ScallionNoodles2

Don’t get me wrong, I loved having my parents and friend over,  but I’m glad I can eat whatever I want now. This means that I’ve been filling my belly with all kinds of noodles every single day since they’ve been gone.

ScallionNoodles3

This might look as a plain and not so special noodle dish, but it really is more than just the sum of its parts. The oil gets a lot of flavor from the dried shrimps and scallions and you only need a little bit of the oil to spice up the noodles.

Recipe from Hutong Cuisine.

Dough
200 g flour
100 g water
1/4 tsp salt

Dissolve the salt in the water. Place the flour in a bowl and mix in the water a little bit at a time. Mix well and knead till smooth. Cover with a wet cloth and leave to rest for 15 minutes. Knead the dough again and roll the dough out to 1 mm thickness. Cut into 3 mm slices.

Sauce
3 tbsp/20 g dried shrimps, soak in cool water for one hour until soft
30 g scallions, chop into pieces of about 5 cm, separate white and green part
4 tbsp light soy sauce
2/3 tbsp dark soy sauce
2 tsp sugar
50 ml oil

Heat the oil in a wok on low flame, add the white parts of the scallions and cook until the onions slightly brown, about 90 seconds.

Add the green parts of the onion and the shrimps, cook until they get crispy and are turning brown, about 6 minutes.

Take out the onions and shrimps and turn off the heat. When the wok is cooling down a little, combine the light and dark soy sauce and the sugar and stir until the sugar has dissolved  Add the sauce to the wok, turn on the heat again and bring the sauce to a boil. Pour the sauce into a bowl.

Scallion noodles
Bring a pot full of water to a bowl, add the noodles when the water boils and cook them for about 2 minutes. Take the noodles out of the pot, rinse them under cold water and drain them. Place the noodles in a bowl, add a couple of tablespoons of the sauce and place some scallions and shrimps on top.

6 Responses to “Scallion noodles - 葱油面.”

  1. artandkitchen

    Oh Marta, I’m following your blog since months, and I never get bored about your news, the photos and the pictures. I love your sincere blog!
    In the meantime my daughter is in Beijing as well, enjoying the culture, the people, the food the new life, the new experiences and learning Chinese for a few months. She really loves there!

    Reply
    • martetatin

      Thank you! How nice it is to hear that people are actually reading my blog. I hope you’re daughter will have a great experience here!

      Reply
      • artandkitchen

        She is living in a good fmily and she has a small sister there that she loves very much. She will come shortly home in 3 weeks for an exam, breath good air, and go back to China for one more month and make her HSK exam.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

