I went to Shanghai with the plan the eat my way through the city. I think I did quite a decent job, however, I wouldn’t mind going back another time to get some more pan fried soup dumplings or the weird, purple bean drink.

FriedSoupDumplingFried soup dumplings 生煎, at Yang’s fried dumplings.

IrishCoffeeIrish coffee with view over the Bund.

WaitingLineStanding in line for this crazy delicious drink..

WeirdDrinkSome kind of warm drink with purple beans in it, really delicious.

XiaoLongBaoSoup dumplings 小笼包 for breakfast, yes please.

PastriesTwo amazing pastries: the one on the left is savory, no idea what was in it. The one on the right is the best egg tart I’ve ever stuffed in my mouth, I extremely regret not getting more than one.

StandingInLine2Twenty meters away from the line for the crazy drink was this one: people waiting for their fried pork chop. When there’s a line like this all day, every day, you know it must be good.

PorkChopCutting up the pork chops.

PorkChopFried pork chop sprinkled with vinegar.

WontonSoupWonton soup at Din Tai Fung.

VitaminKickVitamin shot.

RamenJapanese for dinner: very good ramen and ..

JapaneseChickenChicken skewer with plum jam and grilled chicken skin, damn good.

ShengJianFried soup dumplings for breakfast, miss these so much.

CookieCravingsWestern food craving: chocolate chip cookie and Bakewell pastry.

IMG_3455Best Thai food I’ve ever had: mild spicy curry with roasted duck meat and pineapple, served with an infinite amount of prawn crackers and jasmine rice. And to top it off..

ThaiDessertBaked pastries filled with banana and covered in syrup and served with ice cream.

BestFriedChickenThe best fried chicken in the world. I’ve had this one before in Taiwan, but now the shop has expanded to Shanghai, so I could have it again – lucky me. Last time I wasn’t able to handle the “very spicy”  and I would just order regular spicy, but I was sure that by now, two and a half years later, I was able to conquer the 辣辣的. Tears were streaming down my face while I was eating the chicken, not sure if this was because it tasted exactly the same as I remembered and I loved every bite of this humongous monster, or maybe because it was so spicy it felt like I was on fire. Anyway, it was the best way to end my food adventure in Shanghai.

9 Responses to “Shanghai food.”

  1. salsachica

    Soup dumplings are definitely one of the best foods of Shanghai

    Reply
    • martetatin

      Hi Bert en Sjaan,

      Dankjewel voor jullie berichtjes (en sorry voor het late antwoorden)! Wat leuk dat jullie mijn blog lezen. Hoop dat alles goed gaat met jullie!

      Liefs

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

