Last Monday I had dinner with a friend in one of the canteens on campus. It was freezing cold, outside and inside, and while we were having dinner we could see the steam from our breaths coming from our mouths. I don’t know how much longer I could’ve kept it up with the numbing cold and the depressing, smoggy skies, but luckily not even one week later spring has unofficially began. I’m talking about blue skies, sunshine and walking outside without a coat.

Chickpea2

So here it is, the last winter dish of the season. After having had to endure my fiercest winter so far for the last 4 months – since the first snow fell in the first week of November it has been one long depressing period. So I’m in full right to gloat about the lovely weather I’m experiencing right now, even though you might still have to wear a thick coat when you go outside.

Chickea1

If you are in that position, I do not envy you. Hang in there for a couple more weeks and spring will make you smile again as well (unless you live in the Southern Hemisphere). And until then you can make this warming and soothing chickpea stew. Not only is the stew on its own the perfect dish for a crappy weather day, but you can pair it with crusty bread (coming soon) and dip this is in garlicy yoghurt.

Recipe adapted from the Amateur Gourmet.

It took a bit more than the amounts written in the recipe to make this dish as tasty as I wanted it to be. In the end I just added a lot more of everything, so I’m not exactly sure how much I’ve added of what, but I think it was something like this:

6 garlic cloves
3 tbsp ground cumin
4 tbsp tomato paste
3/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (I wish I could’ve added more, but unfortunately my parents are amateurs when it comes to eating spicy)
I used extra water instead of wine since we didn’t have any
3 bay leaves
1 cup chopped and drained roasted peppers from a jar
fresh juice of 1+1/2 lemon
A lot of salt

I’ve used 4 chicken thighs and the same amount of chickpeas as stated in the recipe and followed the directions as much as possible with adding more spices along the way.

I served the stew with crusty soda bread (recipe coming soon) and garlicy yoghurt. You can make this by buying a tub of thick Greek/Turkish yoghurt, finely chopping/zesting a clove or two of garlic and mixing this through the yoghurt.

4 Responses to “Lebanese chickpea stew.”

  1. Zaneta

    Mmmmm soo erg lekker!! Ohh yeaa enjoying the summer here in the southern hemisphere!! Looking forward to your crusty bread recipe :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

