It’s no coincidence that the posts of two of the best brownies I’ve ever made, this one and this one, have crappy pictures. When these fudgy monsters come out of the oven, the only thing I want to do is dive right in and treat myself on a piece of sticky chocolate gooeyness, but just when I’m about to do that, I have to remind myself that I should take pictures first. The little self-control I have just allows me to take a couple of lucky shots before I take a piece, or two, ok, maybe three. And as you can actually see – busted – I couldn’t even restrain myself from slicing the whole thing up and snatching a couple of pieces before taking the pics.

SaltedBrownie1

After having to take two trains, two plains and a cab ride to get from Amsterdam to Beijing while being sick, I arrived in my dorm room completely exhausted and jet lagged, but luckily these fudgy miracle workers helped me feel better. The caramel gave me the energy kick my body needed and the chocolate helped me to get over the pity party I was having. And I’m pretty sure they’ll help you feel better whatever problems you’re having, but let’s be honest, no one needs an excuse to take a little bite of these salted caramel brownies.

SaltedBrownie2

I know the brownie in this picture doesn’t even come close to the looks of the beautiful original, but it sure tasted amazing. They already taste wonderful immediately after taking them out of the oven (watch out not to burn your mouth on the dangerously hot caramel), but they taste heavenly the day after.

Recipe from Smitten Kitchen.

I didn’t read the recipe properly, no judgement please, and instead of mixing most of the caramel pieces into the batter and scatter the brownie with the remaining few, I acted the other way around. There’s not a big difference tastewise, but the pieces on top crystalized more.

9 Responses to “Salted caramel brownies.”

  1. Trang Quynh

    that’s not a “little” self-control but a HUGE self-control, if I was you in that case, standing in front of this mouth-watering brownie, I’m pretty sure that there’s no picture comes out, I’ll take a spoon and try it immediately ! ^^

    Reply
  2. Magda

    To the untrained eye, these photos look a bit messy, but to me they look wonderful! I know what a good brownie looks like and this one must be a delicious one. All gooey and chocolaty, just the way I like them.

    Reply
  3. Georgia

    I love the photo of these brownies! They look perfect to me – a glorious crunch on the outside but gooey in the middle mess. Personally I think brownies taste better when they turn out like this! Just wonderful.

    Reply
  4. martetatin

    Thank you all!

    When I took them out of the oven they were indeed gooey, but they firm up overnight and are even more delicious then.

    Trang Quynh – I actually ate the parts of the brownie that are missing in the picture with a spoon. Great minds think alike.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

