Today I had my first class at my uni in Beijing. Since I don’t have any course outlines I had no idea what kind of treat I was in for, but apparently we’ll be discussing texts of Confucius in this class. After class ended I was – and still am – exhausted of my one and a half hour of trying to understand what the teacher said in Chinese, so when I got home I really needed some comfort food. Eventually I had – surprisingly – Chinese food for dinner, but the thing that I was really craving was a decent pizza. One with a crispy crust, delicious toppings and caramalized mozzarella and parmesan on top. I guess I’ll just have to look at the pictures instead.

Recipe adapted from Jim Lahey,  Jamie Oliver’s Meals in Minutes and Home Made Winter.

For the dough I’ve used Jim Laheys recipe, for the toppings Home Made Winter and for the baking method I’ve used Jamie Olivers book.

Toppings
– tomato sauce, buffalo mozzarella, red onion, green chillies and salami
– figs, prosciutto and mozzarella
– tomato sauce, buffalo mozzarella, garlic, parmesan and, once out of the oven, some rocket – too bad I haven’t made any pictures of this one

Baking method
I’ve placed a baking tin (one that can be placed on the hob, but can also handle the heat of the oven) on the stove on hight heat. I’ve rolled out the dough, placed it in the hot tin and added the toppings as fast as I could. In total the pizza would be baking on the stove for a couple of minutes. Then I placed the tin into the oven under a hot grill and I’d check every couple of minutes to see if the cheese was caramalizing but not turning too dark. You have to move fast but this method gave the best outcome for a crispy crust.

4 Responses to “No-knead pizza dough.”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

