For the last one and a half week I have been eating like a queen. Every meal I had was made by someone else – either served to me in a restaurant of bought from small food stalls on the street. Almost every single thing I ate was incredibly delicious and even though food in Beijing is much more expensive than in other parts of China, it still is very cheap compared to Dutch prices.

Yesterday I was scanning through some pictures I took from my last couple of weeks in the Netherlands – things I haven’t blogged about yet – and then I started missing Western food and cooking. When I saw the pictures of this tiramisu I got an instant craving for it. Me and my housemates had it as a dessert after this porchetta. I’ve added a little bit more limoncello than the recipe said and it gave the tiramisu a delicious lemony flavor without being too overpowering. It got us all pretty tipsy though.

Recipe adapted from (Dutch) Delicious – August 2012.

*I’ve doubled the recipe, but the recipe below is for a normal sized tiramisu (4-6 people). The recipe said that my plate would be big enough, but as you can see, it really isn’t. So I would¬†recommend using a bigger plate than 1,5 litre volume.

3 eggs, seperated
100 g caster sugar
250 g mascarpone
100 ml whipping cream
250 g ladyfingers
125 ml limoncello
500 g strawberries, cleaned and halved
a couple of pieces of mint

Whip the whipping cream till soft peaks form. Place the bowl in the fridge.

Mix the egg yolks and the sugar in a bowl. Heat it in the microwave until it is warm when you put your head above the bowl. Be careful not to let the mixture curdle. In my microwave this takes 3 x 15 seconds. Stir in between. Beat this mixture on full speed for about 5-10 minutes, the mixture gets really airy and pale. Carefully add the mascarpone and whipped cream and gently stir to incorporate the different mixtures. Be carefull not to overmix it, otherwise the mixture will curdle.

Whisk the egg whites till stiff – make sure to use complete clean tools for this, otherwise they won’t become stiff. Whisk the egg whites carefully through the mascarpone mixture.

Dip one third of the cookies in the liquor and place them in the plate you’ll be using (1,5 litre volume*). Top with one third of the mascarpone mixture and place one third of the strawberries on top of it. Repeat till you don’t have anything left.

Cover the plate with plastic wrap and place in the fridge – at least for four hours but overnight will be even better.

Top with mint before serving.

5 Responses to “Tiramisu with limoncello and strawberries.”

  1. dearferrero

    I’ve been looking forward to this. As usual, your creation looks divine!
    I can almost smell the strawberries through the pictures… :)

    Reply
    • martetatin

      Sorry for my late reply! Thank you for your beautiful compliments, makes me feel such a douche for replying so late.. I’ve just been reading your blog posts that I hadn’t read yet and – no surprise here – I loved them, so funny!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

