Last week we had the last get together with my boyfriend’s family before everyone is going to travel for the summer or, in our case, is going abroad to study. My boyfriend’s brother, who also made the delicious food for the barbecue we had a while ago, made spare-ribs and oh my, they were good!

As side dishes I made a cucumber salad, a carrot salad and a lentil salad. I also made my own mayonnaise, garlic sauce and spicy sriracha mayonnaise. But needless to say, this evening was all about the ribs. Everyone started binging on the ribs and we just had some salad to get the feeling we had a balanced meal.

We thought we wouldn’t have enough food – which off course was a pretty naive thought – and when everyone got over the worst part of their foodcoma’s, we took out a cake tin full of blackberry parfait and a humongous brownie.

Spare-ribs
The ingredients of the marinade were, unfortunately, not measured so I don’t know the exact amounts.

It was kind of an experiment, as he had never – but neither had I – made them before. He checked out some video’s about ribs on YouTube and got started. First he marinated the big slacks of rib in a dry rub,  which was a mixture of paprika powder, garlic powder, onion powder, ginger powder, sugar and some salt. They were wrapped in tinfoil and went into the oven for 2 hours on 180˚ C. Then he made a liquid mixture of barbecue sauce, Jack Daniels, beer, dark brown sugar and a little bit of cayenne pepper. This mixture was smeared over the ribs with a brush, they went back into the oven till they were incredibly juicy, tender and falling of the bone.

Mayonnaise
I always make my mayonnaise to taste and I never measure the ingredients. I’ve heard stories about home-made mayonnaise that didn’t turned out very well, but I never failed to make it and I think if you just make sure the ingredients are at room temperature (although, I also made it with them not being at room temp) and don’t add too much oil in once.

1 egg yolk
1 tbsp mustard
sunflower oil or a different kind of flavorless oil
lemon juice
salt and pepper

Place the egg yolk in a bowl, add the mustard, season with some salt and pepper and stir with a whisk. While you’re stirring, add the oil little by little. If you add too much oil in once, the oil will not be incorporated immediately, keep mixing and you’ll see it will become a homogeneous mixture. I add oil till the moment where I think the mixture is too thick and then I start adding lemon juice. I like my mayonnaise pretty lemony, I think I add about a couple of tablespoons, but just add it to your own preferences. Mix, taste and add more salt/pepper/mustard/lemon juice.

Garlic sauce
Finely grade some cloves of garlic or put them in a garlic press. I like garlic a lot, so I add one clove to about 5 tbsp of mayonnaise.

Sriracha mayonnaise
Sriracha will make your mayonnaise red very easily, but it will take some more of the red sauce to make it really spicy. We like our food spicy, so I ended up adding two-thirds of a big bottle to a bowl of mayonnaise, whoops.

I’ll post the recipe of the salads later this week.

One Response to “The best spare-ribs I ever had.”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

