If you want to get bikini-ready for the summer and switch your diet to eating more healthy, you should probably start a bit earlier than the beginning of July. But hey, never late than never, right? When I’m laying of the cookies and chocolate, I always have trouble fixing myself some healthy snacks. The snacks still have to comfort me, still my hunger and taste delicious. To me, this often includes carbs, butter, sugars and salt – so not really healthy at all. I need some healthy to-go-to recipes, because I know exactly what will happen if I don’t have these and I’m in high need for some food: I will enter the supermarket full of good intentions, but the hunger will take over and I’ll load my basket with delicious, but unhealthy, foods.

This recipe has been put on my healthy-snack list, after I’d changed the recipe a bit though. The figs were good, but the recipe (which isn’t really a recipe – even better for these occasions) still needed some tweaking. The tweaking mostly consisted of “add more of everything”, so now they’ve turned out as some amazing tasting and delicate looking snacks.

figs, not too soft ones*
prosciutto*
honey
olive oil
salt and pepper

*Depending on the size, you’ll cut the figs into halves or into quarters. For every slice of fig, you’ll need one big slice of ham. You’ll end up with more ham on your figs than in my pictures, but I’ve regretted this low amount of ham for days. The more prosciutto, the better.

Preheat the oven to 200˚C.

Drizzle some olive oil over a baking tray and smear it out. Place the slices of prosciutto individually on the baking tray. Drizzle per slice half a tablespoon of honey over the prosciutto and gently smear it out. Place in the oven for 5-10 minutes. The ham should still be soft enough to wrap around the figs, but it should already be a little crispy. Take the baking sheet out of the oven and leave to cool for a little bit.

Depending on the size of your figs, cut them either in half or into quarters. Mine were pretty big and I’ve cut them in half, but next time I’ll cut big-sized figs into quarters. The fig-prosciutto ratio will be more balanced (with balanced I mean more prosciutto).

Sprinkle some salt and pepper (more pepper than salt, since the ham already is salty) over the cut-side of the figs. Wrap the prosciutto around the figs with the honey side touching the figs – this way the prosciutto will stick to the fruit. Place the figs on the baking sheet. Drizzle some more honey over the figs, depending on how sweet you like them, add a few good drizzles of olive oil and some more pepper. Place the baking sheet in the oven and bake them for 7-10 minutes**.

**I like my figs not too soft. So I buy figs that are not too soft and try to decrease the time they spend in the oven. If you like your figs a little bit more on the soft side, do the opposite. Whatever floats your boat.

7 Responses to “Prosciutto wrapped figs.”

  1. Alaina

    Your photos look great. I must admit that I’ve never had a fig before, but I do love proscuitto. Have you had it wrapped around melon or asparagus? Mmmm. Looks like I need to start experimenting with figs! Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply
    • martetatin

      Hi Alaina – Before a couple of weeks ago, I never had a fig before either. Just try one and see if you like it. I also had it wrapped around asparagus and melon, the latter is one of my favorite healthy snacks. Let me know when you’ve tried a fig!

      Reply
  2. Richard de Clausade

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    Today I checked my bank statement and realized I am short on money. REAL SHORT. I hate checking my statements because I know by the end of the week, I will see unpleasant numbers. I have been eating out way too much and I think it’s time to retrospect into cooking at home again. I found this fascinating Dutch food blog the other day and fell in love with the haute recipes. I’m really looking forward to pay day this week and to get started on this prosciutto wrapped figs. Looks so decadent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

