My first used-no-recipe-just-threw-myself-a-salad post on this blog. Because I just threw some things in a big bowl, mixed it and then placed it on a nice plate, I don’t have the exact amounts, so you’ll just need to add the dressing according to your own preferences.

Salad:
1 eggplant
1 zucchini
2 large red peppers
1 packet of mâche, which is also called field salad and lamb’s lettuce (veldsla in Dutch) – about 3 big hands full

Marinade:
a few dashes of good olive oil
3 cloves of garlic (I like my garlic), minced
a big bunch of cilantro, chopped
Salt and pepper

Dressing:
Olive oil

Preheat the oven to 200˚C.

Cut the veggies, except for the lettuce, in pieces. For the eggplant I’ve made slices and cut these slices into four pieces. I cut the zucchini into slices of a couple of millimeters and I’ve cut the peppers into big chunks/strips.

Place the veggies on a baking tray, or two. Keep the eggplant, zucchini and peppers separated. This way if one of these veggies has been cooked before the others, you can easily take them out. How long it will take to cook, depends on how big you’ve cut them. I would say it’ll take between 10-15 minutes.

In the meanwhile, make the marinade. Mix the minced garlic, most of the chopped cilantro (save a bit to sprinkle over the salad before serving) and olive oil in a small bowl, add some salt and pepper.

When you take the roasted vegetables out of the oven, place them in a big bowl. Immediately add the marinade and carefully mix everything. The moment you add the marinade, the garlic and cilantro will start smelling delicious. After everything cooled down a bit, add the lettuce. Taste and add more salt/pepper/oil/vinegar to taste. Place the salad on a nice plate and sprinkle with the rest of the cilantro.

4 Responses to “Roasted veggies salad.”

  1. atasteofmadess

    I love the throw things in, make i a recipe dishes. This looks perfect!
    All the salads I make are boring (romaine lettuce, maybe some bell peppers) I need to vary it up a little!

    Reply
    • martetatin

      I had the same problem, but then I discovered the books by Ottolenghi (the Ottolenghi Cookbook and Plenty) and there are so many inspiring salad and vegetables recipes in there. The books are teaching me to make salads in a not-so-obvious way. So if you’re in high need for some inspiring recipes and pictures, take a look at these books.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

