Just a quick break as I am studying for my tests – or trying at least. I really have to be studying very hard to finish my bachelor in the next couple of weeks, but the kitchen is asking for my company and the oven wants me to bake things in it. It’s clear that I’d rather be baking and cooking all day than sitting behind my desk studying for tests and writing papers. But no pity party here – only a couple more weeks and then I’ll be free to do whatever I want.

As I’ve mentioned last post, I’m enjoying my catch of cheap raspberries. This time I’ve made delicate, buttery financiers. Unlike the last raspberry cake, these cakes take a bit more care (and eggs and butter – lots of them), but nothing too difficult. There’s a lot of butter is this recipe, but I guess that’s why these little cakes are so damn addictive.

And once again, the cookbook tricks the baker into making more cakes than one should eat so close to the bikini-season. The recipe states that the batter will make 12 muffin-size financiers. But when you take a good look at the pictures, this is obviously not the case. I’ve made 18 muffin-sized ones and 24 mini cake-sized ones. It’s not that you have to worry whether they’ll be eaten, but more if you have strong will power to resist the temptation of eating them one by one.

I had trouble getting the financiers out of the tins; even though I’ve sprayed vigorously with baking spray they still sticked to the tins (which never happens with other cakes). I’ve baked 6 of them in a silicone mold and these came out perfectly. Does anyone know why the tins weren’t cooperating?

This time I did sprinkle over some sugar before I placed the cakes into the oven. I would recommend you to do the same, as it forms a nice crust to the delicate, buttery cakes.

Recipe from Bourke Street Bakery: the ultimate baking companion

150 g ground almonds
90 g all-purpose flour
240 g icing sugar
1 tsp baking powder
280 ml (about 8) egg whites
250 g unsalted butter, melted
raspberries*

*depends on how many you want to add to your cakes. I’ve used 2-3 for the muffin sized ones and 1 for the mini-cakes. Of course you can use other kind of fruit instead of raspberries.

Preheat the oven to 190˚C/375˚F. Lightly grease the tins that you will be using.

Put the ground almonds, flour, icing sugar and baking powder through a sieve into a large mixing bowl. Add the egg whites, a little at a time, whisking well after each addition. Pour in the melted butter and whisk through until just combined.

Spoon the mixture into the holes into the prepared tin until they are almost full. Gently place a berry (or more) into the top of the financier. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes**, or until they are golden and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Turn out onto a wire rack to cool and serve.

**I didn’t really pay attention to the exact baking times, just paid close attention to how they looked and felt when I gave a little push with my finger. My mini-financiers took about 15-20 minutes and the muffin-sized ones took 25-30 minutes.

5 Responses to “Financiers with raspberries.”

  1. Doug

    The financiers of Brussels are getting all the raspberries and tart comments after the interest rates for Spanish bonds went to 7%. Despite the austerity measures, they said, “Let them eat cake.” It seems like a good time to make financiers before the price of raspberries goes up. The egg whites sound sticky and maybe pushing in the raspberries pushes the mixture too tightly against the walls of the mold. You could dust the greased mold with flour(tap out the extra) and refrigerate a while. Then when you pour and push, it won’t stick. But I’m not sure how making raspberry cake is going to help the European Union. Are they not issuing loans to bakers? And I thought that financiers had better things to do than make cakes. One other thing: it seems to me that Brussel sprouts would taste terrible in a cake — no wonder that the EU has a bitter taste in it’s mouth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

