When I bought Home Made Summer and marked every recipe that I really wanted to try, it turned out I marked almost every single recipe in the book. The recipe that I picked to start with, is this one. I love cheesecakes for its taste and texture, but I have a record of failing a couple of cheesecakes in the past. This time was no different. The first time I tried, I could only find low-fat quark, which was pretty fluid, and therefore my cheesecake wouldn’t set – not even after 2,5 hours. For my second attempt I found the full-fat quark and was hoping the cheesecake would turn up perfectly. Although it was pretty good, there are still some tweaks that I would make if I would make it another time.

I had to keep the cheesecake in the oven 30 minutes longer that the recipe states. At this time the cheesecake was still very wobbly, but I took my chances and took it out, left it to cool for a little bit and removed the ring of the springform pan. There was a lot of oil dripping down, so I placed the cake (still on the bottom of the springform pan) on a plate in the fridge. When I took a look the next morning, the plate was full of oil. After I placed it on a cake stand, I tried a piece. The baking time turned out succesful, cause the texture of the cheesecake was perfect. However, although the bottom layer of the crust turned out great, the top layer had become a bit soggy.

Yvette van Boven uses a fresh coconut to make thin slices and sprinkles them over the cake. I was a bit lazy and didn’t try it, but I think it would make a nice addition. In my cheesecake I couldn’t really taste any coconut, but I think the coconut milk helped to make it so creamy. If you don’t want to tackle a fresh coconut, I can imagine drying some store bought desiccated shredded coconut, place it in the oven for a couple of minutes – while keeping an eye on it – and sprinkle over the cake. The cheesecake had a lovely fresh lime taste. So overall, the cheesecake wasn’t perfect, but it was still something everyone enjoyed eating.

Adapted recipe from Home Made Zomer (Dutch, but it will be translated into English) by Yvette van Boven.

Crust:
200 g amaretti
75 g melted butter, plus a little bit extra to grease the springform pan
pinch of salt

Cake:
400 g cream cheese,  room temperature
500 g quark
400 ml coconut milk
250 g sugar
pinch of salt
4 eggs

Preheat the oven to 180˚C.

Grease a 24 cm ø springform pan with some butter. Cut a piece of baking paper the exact size of the bottom and place it in the tin. Cutter the amaretti in a food processor to crumbs and add the melted butter. Mix well. Place the crumb mixture in the springform pan and press evenly on the bottom of the pan. Bake it 12-15 minutes in the oven, leave to cool on a rack.

Lower the oven temperature to 160˚C and start making the filling. Beat cream cheese fluffy. Add the quark and coconut milk and mix. Add the sugar a bit by bit. Add the lime zest, lime juice and salt. Add the eggs one at a time. Pour the mixture in the springform pan and place it into the oven. Bake 1.5-2 hours (see explanation above the recipe) till the middle of the cake is just stiff.

Take the cake out of the oven and leave to cool for 20 minutes. Slide a knife around the edges to ensure that the cheesecake won’t crack while cooling. Leave it to cool completely and leave in the fridge overnight. Take it out of the fridge 15 minutes before you want to serve it.