Lately I’ve been pretty busy with studying for tests and writing papers. Can’t be studying 24/7 though and sometimes I’m in high need for some distraction and relaxation. In these breaks I allow myself to bake something simple and soothing. These cakes are perfect for this, because the batter can be made within 10 minutes and they only need 30 minutes in the oven. The cakes are light and summery. Besides, when my break has finished, I have a nice snack that I can eat while studying. So if you’re also in the middle of some university pressure and need a break and a snack, here’s a recipe for you. Even if you have all the time in the world and are totally carefree, I’m sure you’ll like these little lemony cakes.

Recipe from How to be a Domestic Goddess by Nigella Lawson.

This recipe makes 6-8 cakes (depending on the size of your mould). I’ve doubled the recipe, but didn’t change a thing.

I thought my icing was thick enough, but it turned out is wasn’t, so I ended up with a thin layer of icing. If you want to have icing like Nigella describes in the recipe, you’ll have to keep the icing thicker as you would think is necessary.

Cake:
125 ml natural yoghurt
75 g butter, melted
2 large eggs
zest of 1 lemon
150 g plain flour
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
pinch of salt
125 g sugar

Icing:
200 g icing sugar
juice of 1 lemon (maybe less)

Preheat the oven to 170˚C.

In a measuring jug, mix the yoghurt, melted butter, eggs and lemon zest. Put the flour, bicarb, salt and sugar into a large bowl. Mix the wet ingredients into the bowl, folding in everything well, then fill the mini-Bundt moulds with the mixture, and cook for 25-30 minutes. When they come out of the oven, leave them to cool a little before turning them out, otherwise they’ll break – but don’t let them get too cold either, as they will stick. Let them cool on a rack, flat-side down.

To make the icing, sieve the icing sugar into a bowl, and add enough lemon juice to make an icing thick enough to ice the tops and drizzle down like snow-capped peaks.