This brownie is the best brownie I ever made – I mean it. It has almost a pound of dark chocolate in it – in 3 ways may I add – and prunes that have been soaking in liquor for 3 days. I didn’t mind that I could only take this crappy picture below, I just didn’t have the patience to take some extra shots, because I couldn’t wait any longer to dive into this divine fudgy chocolate monster.

Recipe from Bourke Street Bakery: The Ultimate Baking Companion

300 g pitted prunes
200 g brandy (or cognac or hot tea)*
55 g flour
40 g cacao powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
300 g dark chocolate
80 g butter
300 g caster sugar
4 eggs
100 g sour cream
145 g dark chocolate melts (buttons)

*I didn’t have brandy or cognac and I really wanted to use liquor, so I went with what I had on my liquor-shelf, which was dark rum. Couldn’t complain about this alternative. So I would say, use whatever drink you want to use, I bet it will taste delicious.

Place the prunes in a bowl and pour over the brandy, cognac or tea. Cover and set aside to soak for 3 days.

Preheat the oven to 170˚C/325˚F. Line a 20×30 cake tin with baking paper. Sift the flour, cacao, salt and baking powder into a bowl.

Put the chocolate, butter and sugar into a stainless steel bowl and sit over a saucepan of simmering water – making sure the base of the bowl does not touch the water. Stir for 10 minutes, or until the chocolate has melted. Allow to cool, then transfer to the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed and add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the flour mixture, mix to combine, then add the sour cream, chocolate melts and prunes with the remaining soaking liquid and mix until just combined.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared tin and bake in the oven for 1 hour, or until just set. Place your hand on top of the brownie in the centre and wobble to feel if it is set. Allow to cool completely before turning out of the tin. Use a hot knife to cut into squares. The brownies can be wrapped in plastic wrap and stored for up to 4 days at room temperature.

4 Responses to “Best brownie ever.”

  1. Phebe

    It sounds delicious! I’ve just shared your link on my Facebook page :)

    Reply
  2. yogaleigh

    Do you wind up with whole prunes in your brownies or do they break down from the alcohol soak? These sound yummy.

    Reply
    • martetatin

      Hi Yogaleigh – I’ve cut the prunes into pieces before soaking them in the alcohol. They won’t fall apart after soaking, so if you don’t like whole prunes in your brownies, I’d recommend you to cut them into pieces.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

