Taking the open bus from Hanoi to Saigon (or the other way around) is very convenient. You can buy a ticket including 3-5 fixed stops with open dates, you only need to reserve your next bus a day in advance. It’s a sweet deal: a ticket for over 40 hours of traveling with 5 stops only cost me $47.

From Hanoi I took a night bus to Hue. After being in the bus for only 10 minutes, we discovered there were more passengers than we had initially noticed: hundreds of cockroaches were accompanying us on this 14-hour trip. After an inner conflict – am I just a spoiled white girl from the Netherlands who cannot handle a little dirt? – me and my newly made friends decided to switch busses. The thought of the creepy little creatures crawling into my bag, under my blanket, in my hair etc and laying eggs in all those warm places was more than I could handle.

I only stayed in Hue for one day, which was just the right amount of time. The old imperial city is very nice, but very small compared to another one closer to me. After visiting the imperial city I decided to rent a motor taxi which would take me to the old tombs around the city. I gradually started to relax on the back of the motor, even started taking selfies when we were driving and I didn’t clung on to the skinny driver anymore. It was really nice to be out of the big city again, into the country, smelling fresh trees, breathing clean air (Beijing air quality as I type: “very unhealthy”), not being surrounded by people & motorbikes & sounds and enjoying the beautiful scenery and old tombs.

Vietnam Hue 13

Vietnam Hue 1

Vietnam Hue 2

IMG_6642

IMG_6653

IMG_6684

IMG_6682

IMG_6680

IMG_6741

IMG_6030

Vietnam Hue 11

Vietnam Hue 3

 

2 Responses to “Hue, Vietnam.”

  1. chalsangaso

    Looks like such a beautiful landscape to travel through. It’s so nice to see someone going on a wonderfully inspiring trip. Thank you for sharing, and we’ll definitely be following you! Feel free to check us out at: http://naturalninjas.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,135 other followers

