When I visited Shanghai last March, I decided I would also visit the nearby city Suzhou for a day. With its characteristic canals and its stunning surroundings, Suzhou is known as “the Venice of Asia”, but one should realize that this city is growing very fast and there are already 10 million people living there. So it’s by no means a small town and it’s mostly the old part of town where you can find the romantic scenery.

Because that day was a national holiday – aka the worst time to travel to these kinds of places – we decided to skip the tourist spots, like the beautiful pagodas and gardens, but just take a walk next to one of the canals. Even though the weather sucked, it was still very clear that Suzhou is a beautiful and special city.

Suzhou2

Suzhou3

Suzhou4

Suzhou5

Suzhou6

Suzhou7

Suzhou8

Suzhou9

Suzhou10

Suzhou11

Suzhou12

Suzhou13

Suzhou14

Suzhou15

Suzhou16

Suzhou17

Suzhou18

Suzhou19

Suzhou20

5 Responses to “Suzhou, China.”

  1. raastha

    Hey….very beautiful. This just reminds me of my trip and the places I could have been. These canals are something I love to be….hours n hours watching or boating. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Reply
  2. chef mimi

    Wow. My married daughter will be there next week visiting friends. I just forwarded this post to her. Hopefully it will be inspirational. The photos are stunning !

    Reply
  3. gastronomiette

    Such beautiful, clean photos. Love the pictures of the street vendors, and the one of the old women looking back at you.

    China is definitely a country I’d love to visit! I’m adding it to my dream itinerary hahaha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,151 other followers

