Even though it’s good to be back in Beijing, I’m never really feeling at ease. This semester is the first time I’m sharing my room with someone, and so far it hasn’t been a very pleasant experience. I don’t want to complain too much cause I know there are way bigger problems than having a horrible roommate, but when my roommate is doing everything to prevent me from sleeping at night (like putting on her heels in the middle of the night while already wearing her PJs, just so the noise of the heels will keep me awake) and studying during the day (like refusing to put on her headphones when she’s watching Pakistan Got Talent on full volume), I find it hard to stay zen.

Chocolate mousse

Luckily I have the best friends and parents who help me to stay positive, see everything in perspective and think of creative ways how I can get back at her (it stays with fantasizing though). And sometimes a little bit of chocolate will help as well.

This is the easiest chocolate mousse there is. You only need to make sure that you’re using fresh eggs (not sure if I would use raw eggs in China though) and good chocolate, and you’re good to go. With only two ingredients (+ a little bit of salt) you will end up with the most light and delicate mousse that will make you forget all your worries, or at least for as long you’re eating it.

Chocolate mousse
4 servings

6 eggs, whites and yolks separated
200 g dark chocolate
a decent pinch of salt

Put the egg whites in a very clean bowl (otherwise the whites won’t stiffen up) and beat them until stiff.

Melt the chocolate (au bain marie or carefully in the microwave) and mix it with the egg yolks and the salt in a big bowl.

Add one thirds of the stiff egg whites to the chocolate mixture and mix (no need to be gentle). When the whites are completely mixed in, add another two thirds, but this time make sure to fold carefully, otherwise all the air will go out. Finish with the last part of egg whites (keep folding gently). When the egg whites and the chocolate mixture are folded into one homogenous mousse, pour the mousse into glasses/cups/bowls.

Chill in the fridge for 4 hours.

6 Responses to “Chocolate mousse.”

  1. raastha

    thats very simple……thanks. Though i dont have the time to this simple recipe i know where to look at during leisure just in case i forget.
    I had similar experience like yours during my last couple of years. But now my room is a good friend and she looks up to me for adivse. Despite the fact that, what she does is not ethically right from my point of view. Yet, i have learnt to respect our relationship and i can say that I miss my days in London with her. I hope things will turn for your best.

    Love,
    Vannie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,154 other followers

