IMG_1466
IMG_1470
IMG_1487
IMG_1492
IMG_1502
IMG_1506

This must have been the longest period that I haven’t posted anything here on Martetatin. The past couple of weeks have been one big emotional roller coaster ride, so much has happened since I talked about polenta pizza and bacon wrapped dates, I just didn’t have the energy to take a moment and write.

When I last posted I was still in the Netherlands, since then I have packed all of my belongings in boxes, sold most of my furniture, ended my apartment contract, moved all of my stuff to my parents attic (thanks for the help!), said goodbye to friends and family and used my one-way ticket to get on a plane to Beijing. And back in China I’ve been trying to get my life in order again.

This year will be my last year as a (fulltime) student, before I will enter the world of the grown ups. So I’d better make full use of the next couple of months and figure out what it is exactly that I want to do when I grow up. But for now I’ll just eat a piece of my home made cheesecake (more on that later) in my new favorite coffee shop/restaurant and write a new post. It’s good to be back.

Only a Chinese recipe seemed suitable for my first post back in China. I love the ways in which Chinese cook eggplant, but despite its vitamins it’s never the healthiest dish on the table. This delicious vegetable is often fried in a lot of oil and later stir fried with garlic, ginger and other fragrances. It creates a party in your mouth, but also an extra layer on your body to keep you warm during the winter. This recipe isn’t as oily as those other recipes, but it is still a pleasure for your taste buds.

Recipe adapted from Hutong Cuisine.

500 g eggplant, cut into small finger size pieces
2 tbsp minced pork
2 tsp rice wine
1 1/2-2 tbsp pickled chili, minced (泡辣椒)
1 tbsp ginger, minced
6 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp light soy sauce
2 tsp vinegar
50 ml water
peanut/sunflower oil for stir-frying
3 pieces spring onion, minced
1/2 tsp sesame oil

Mix the minced pork with the rice wine.

Place a wok on high heat, add 1 tbsp of peanut/sunflower oil and wait with adding ingredients until the wok starts to smoke. Add the eggplant and stir until it becomes soft, 5-10 minutes. Take the eggplant out of the wok and place the pieces on a plate.

Add two tbsp of peanut/sunflower oil to the wok, but this time on medium-low heat. Add the pork, stir until the meat changes color. Add the chili, ginger and garlic, the eggplant, and stir after every additional ingredient. Add the salt, sugar, soy sauce and vinegar and stir again.

Put all the ingredients in the middle of the wok, add the water around them and cover the wok with a lid. Cook for a couple more minutes until all the water is gone.

Turn off the heat, add the spring onion and some sesame oil. Mix and serve on a plate.

4 Responses to “Fish flavor eggplant - 鱼香茄子.”

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,130 other followers

