As you may have noticed I’ve given my blog a little make-over. I wanted to display the pictures bigger and let the food speak for itself. I’ve added a recipe index, which isn’t as extensive as I would like it to be, but I am still working on that. I hope you like the change as much as I do.

This week I’ve made these pretty coloured pumpkin wedges. I took the recipe as a guideline, but I have to admit that next time I’ll be following it more closely to ensure a delicious crust. I’ve just mixed the ingredients without paying attention to the right amounts and ended up with a spread-like consistency instead of a crumb mixture. I think I had more pumpkin than 700 g, so I ended up not having enough topping and certainly didn’t have a couple of millimeters of coating. This time the crust was good, but I’ll bet that with more bread crumbs and cheese – of course more cheese is always a good thing – it will be an incredible dish.

Because I can’t remember what amounts I’ve used and I would recommend the recipe over my improvising, I’ll add the original recipe.

Recipe from Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi.

700 g pumpkin (skin on)
50 g Parmesan, grated
20 g dried white breadcrumbs
6 tsp finely chopped parsley
2,5 tsp finely chopped thyme
grated zest of 2 large lemons
2 garlic cloves
60 ml olive oil

120 g soured cream
1 tbsp chopped dill
salt and white pepper

Preheat the oven to 190˚C. Cut the pumpkin into 1 cm thick slices and lay them flat, cut side down, on a baking sheet that has been lined with greaseproof paper.

To make the crust, mix together in a small bowl the Parmesan, breadcrumbs, parsley, thyme, half the lemon zest, the garlic, a tiny little bit of salt (the Parmesan is already very salty) and some pepper.

Brush the pumpkin generously with olive oil and sprinkle with the crust mix, making sure the slices are covered with a few milimetres of coating. Gently pat the mix down a little.

Place the tin in the oven and roast for about 30 minutes, or until the pumpkin is tender: stick a little knive in one wedge to make sure it has softened and is cooked through. If the topping starts to darken too much during cooking, cover loosely with foil.

Mix the soured cream with the dill and some salt and pepper. Serve the wedges warm, sprinkled with the remaining lemon zest, with the soured cream on the side.

9 Responses to “Crusted pumpkin wedges.”

  1. Riley

    I love that you cook with pumpkin in the summer! I always stock up on pumpkin purée when I find it at the grocery store during the holidays so I can make pumpkin cake and stuff like that whenever I want it!

    Reply
  2. Food Stories

    These are just gorgeous …. been enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

    Reply
  3. Seven Second Rhapsody

    I love pumpkin! This is a good addition to the recipe haul ;)

    Reply
  4. Lissa Rabon

    I think the pictures are what encourage me to try the recipe. Very important but maybe because I’m a visual learner…

    Reply
  5. emjay

    the pictures really completes the recipe! I really like the shape in which the pumpkin was cut. Very Appealing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,154 other followers

